Part of my procrastinating has been just not wanting to do it. But a big part of it has been my youngest. She had the stomach flu literally as we ushered in the new year. Then that parlayed itself into getting molars (so no sleeping there, either). Then we had a couple good days until she got sick again, this time with a raging ear infection and borderling pneumonia, diagnosed last Thur. She is on antibiotics to clear everything out (I hope) but it has made for most of these last 20 days to be sleepless, and when not sleepless, a constant fight with her. I almost think that she is working on her upper molars now, just a week after the bottoms, because she was up ALL. NIGHT. LAST. NIGHT and there is no reason! Luckily, Chad bears most of the brunt of it, since Lucy won't have anything to do with me (he is more easygoing and not around all day), but I feel awful since he was up most of the night, is exhausted, and what is the point of your wife staying home if you get to stay up all night with the kids? Ugh, it isn't good.
So, all of that has really snowballed itself into me not doing a whole lot around here. I am tired, not exercising either, not eating great, and cranky. Plus, we have a ton going on in the next few weeks right up to our vacation.
- Jack's family birthday party is Saturday afternoon. That means a clean house!!!! At least the downstairs.
- The next weekend we are going to have a friends birthday party for him - clean house still needed, however probably the upper levels, too!
- My mom arrives on Feb 5th. That means a REALLY clean and organized house!!! Probably not attainable....but it CANNOT be like this.
- I think that having all of those things will help since we don't have a lot of time in between to destroy the joint, however it also doesn't give us a lot of time to do the actual cleaning, save for ME. And there are those little people who run around behind me, destroying the joint as I am putting it back together!! It is so fruitless somedays and just makes me sad.
So, having said that, here is what my MLK day will be spent:
- Yoga. start out the day with some calm and exercise. Take care of me first.
- Clean out the mud room. Poor Jack can't get to his shoe box, it is dirty and a dump site. It is also small and can be done in about an hour (perfect for ME!).
- Grocery Shop (with 3 kids, sure, but needed nonetheless).
- Laundry. There is a giant pile upstairs, Jack needs his uniform for tomorrow, the boys don't have underwear and I am going out tonight.
No comments:
Post a Comment